The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Possibly getting a welsh pony, need more opinons (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/possibly-getting-welsh-pony-need-more-129108/)

Bribrigirl111 06-30-2012 08:50 PM

Possibly getting a welsh pony, need more opinons

I work at a feed store and I've been around horses for awhile. I basically take care of my bosses 4 horses, I'm working on ground work with her only gelding and one of her TB mares. They've been doing really good and are starting to respect me. I did take english lessons for about 2 years when I was younger and then I had a freak accident, and I stopped riding for about 2 years. About a year and a half ago I started riding again. I took a few english lessons, just to touch up on my overall riding - I don't want to compete or anything, or at least not at this time. I started volunteering at a horse rescue and the president of the resuce, said that she thinks I'm ready to take lessons with the trainer to train horses, i've been kind of nervous about this idk if I am really ready, but the trainer said I am and that I'll do fine. They said I can pick any horse from the resuce to train myself (with help from the trainer there) then evenually buy with a donation of $250.00. And yes it sounds like a nice deal but I really fell in love with my bosses gelding and my boss is going to let me have him when I get settled into my new home on 8 acres. (we're still trying to sell a house).