The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   lower leg/ heels problems. everyones opinion welcomed please comment! :) (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/lower-leg-heels-problems-everyones-opinion-129336/)

Fudgelove 07-02-2012 04:52 PM

lower leg/ heels problems. everyones opinion welcomed please comment! :)

Hey guys! So i have been riding for about 3 years and to give you a little background i started with a saddleseat trainer for 1 year and she tried to teach me hunt seat and well it didnt work well. But she was HUGE on EQ so i had an overall amazing position. Moving to my new trainer who does eventing and hunters she saw i was SUPER stiff and my horse knew nothing dressage wise and was crooked and all over the place from never being taught. So first i had to loosen up so she told me to "throw away" my eq for a while to work on Fudge. Of course i never rode sloppy just never as stiff and as focussed on eq as i was with him. So now hes pretty much fixed but ive noticed how much ive slipped. Here i go now into my problem. My lower leg jiggles too much for my liking and swings a tiny bit when i canter and i have trouble keeping my heels down as much as i would like and my toes need turned in a bit. My position is perfect in 2 point but my lower leg when im not is all over the place. If i grip a little more with it my horse just gets mad and when i loosen he slows. So thats my delema. Please give me all of your tips and tricks!! :) -Morgan<3

xJumperx 07-02-2012 05:10 PM

Well, lower leg is pretty hard to get still. But when you do get there, I must admit, it helps you heaps in all levels - flat classes, jumping classes ... you just overall get a much more neat and good picture. It is a sought after goal, though, though I do have some suggestions.