The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Banamine IM?

19K views 23 replies 12 participants last post by  Super Nova 
#1 ·
My trainer, who was a vet tech for many years, told me to never give Banamine in the muscle. I just saw a picture on Facebook (and yes, I know you can't believe everything you see there) that showed a horse with huge holes in her neck that were attributed to a Banamine injection. My vet had me give my mare an IM injection last week, and so far, no reaction like that, thank goodness.

So my question is, does anyone on here give it that way? Has anyone seen a horrible outcome attributed to it?
Posted via Mobile Device

#2 ·
I may be wrong but most of the time a banamine shot is given in the neck it's in the vein..I've given my share of shots IM, I'm not confident enough to give in the vein so if I have to give the shot I do it IM..

Now, I am far from an expert or vet so don't take too much from that. I haven't had to use banamine shots too many times myself and usual vaccinations are done at my vet's office.

#3 ·
Yes, I have one buried here who received a shot before the complications were well known.

Any shot can cause problems but Banamine more so due to whatever is mixed with it, it creates the perfect environment for organisms to thrive & cause gas gangrene.
It's still labeled for use IM but my suspicious nature makes me believe that is due to fear of lawsuits from the manufactuers if they admit there is a problem.
People still give it IM though, even some vets, without problems but no way I ever would nor would I allow any vet to. It's not a risk I'm willing to take. Now & then I come across a vet who still recommends the IM & that is a vet I would not use as I think they have not kept up with the research or are willing to take a chance with my horse that I wouldn't take.
Sure, the IM is given often without problems but if there is a problem it's terrible.