The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   washing a fly sheet? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/washing-fly-sheet-12991/)

sydney 08-08-2008 07:48 PM

washing a fly sheet?

I just bought my new horse a fly sheet, the only ones they had were white with navy trim. Somehow my horse manages to get it filthy, which I guess most do. Last time I washed it, I was able to get it pretty clean but there were still some stains on it. I wanted to use bleach on it, but I was worried it would mess up the navy trim, would it? (I have never used bleach before on any laundry) If I cant use bleach how can I get the stains out or is it hopeless?

Thanks!

JustDressageIt 08-08-2008 11:46 PM

You can buy detergents specifically formulated for horse blankets at most tack shops.
Or you can use a cold water detergent that's formulated for sensitive skin, and (depending on the size of it) throw it in the washer.

If not, take it to a local you-do-it car-wash, and pressurehose it down :)

appylover31803 08-09-2008 12:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JustDressageIt
If not, take it to a local you-do-it car-wash, and pressurehose it down :)

I never thought of that! Think i'll have to do that.

BrwnEyedGrl 08-09-2008 09:14 AM