The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   What are your goals? Immediate? Long term? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/what-your-goals-immediate-long-term-130056/)

JustDressageIt 07-08-2012 01:12 PM

What are your goals? Immediate? Long term?

Since January I've gotten back into riding seriously again with a coach with the intention of being competitive, as opposed to riding and schooling on my own as I have for the past ~5 years.. Man does it feel good to be back! I've been bitten by the bug again, you could say. I've been battling injuries and health issues for the past 3 years which really put a damper on things (4 surgeries may do that!) but I'm back in the saddle and loving it.

I've had Ronan for a month and a half I think.. And I've kept him on a 4-5 day/week riding schedule. My immediate(ish) goals are:
-get him stretching long and low through the bridle; right now he wants to do a nice frame and that's it, he won't take he bit and stick his nose to the ground.
-show in August; just get him out to a venue and do some flat classes, maybe a small green hunter class
-work more on lateral movements at the trot
- improve his drive from behind.

Some more lengthy goals of mine include doing some dressage shows in the winter, and working over fences enough to be competitive in the 2'6" ring next year.
Posted via Mobile Device

Jore 07-08-2012 01:54 PM