The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ant infestation after hay delivery.. what to do

13K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  walkinthewalk 
#1 ·
I order hay every 2 weeks from a local feed store. They deliver while I'm at work and I have been using them since I moved here 2 years ago.
I got hay delivered Friday afternoon, the same fescue/orchard I had been getting the past 4-6 weeks.

If it makes any difference, it went down from $7/bale to $5/bale, though I asked specifically if it was still clean, dust free, good quality hay. I noticed Friday evening a line of ants from the feed room door straight to the hay. I swept it up again saturday and today.

Tonight it was time to open a new bale, so I moved them around and found a HUGE ant infestation mainly towards the bottom last bale. I had ants on my arms and ATV, and that was from a top bale.

What would you do? Should I call them? What should I expect from them? If nothing, should I discard the hay or just take all the bales out and find the one that is attracting them? I've never had this problem, so just looking for a solution and if I should expect anything from the feed store or not.

Thanks in advance.

#3 ·
you bet I would call them. sounds like you have a good relationship established already..I would think that they will work with you, a good customer! If not, I would find a new hay supplier..cuz that might cause a tough chain of events in your barn...thankfully in all the tons of hay I have bought over the years..that is a new one! I hope that they are typical ants & not termites or carpenter ants!

#6 ·