The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Playing in the water trough (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/playing-water-trough-130356/)

JHass 07-10-2012 03:39 PM

Playing in the water trough

Hi all! Does anyone else have a horse that likes to take a "swim" in the water trough? My TB mare does this at least once a day if it's over 80 degrees or so. It would be one thing if she just stuck her feet in there and got it dirty, but she splashes every drop of water out of the trough, so I feel like I need to come home in the middle of the day to make sure it isn't empty. We're also on a well, so I hate to "waste" water. Kind of obnoxious! Good thing I'm a trainer/instructor and I work from home 95% of the time. She won't do it while I'm standing out there because she knows that I disapprove. Thoughts on how to stop the behavior?

DancingArabian 07-10-2012 03:47 PM

Funny, at my last barn there were four TB's that would do similar. I say similar because they would rear and plop both fronts in the trough and splash like mad and then flip the trough over. They would only do it when the water was clean. I don really see what you could do except change the type of water container or set more out.
Posted via Mobile Device

Corporal 07-10-2012 03:57 PM

I've had horses that do similar things, but nobody has routinely emptied the trough on a daily basis. This has become his toy. Where is your trough? Is there a way that you can place it so that only about 12 inches is available to drink from, maybe "fence" it in? Otherwise you may have to invest in a Richie waterer. They are wonderful, but pricey. Wood is cheaper.

PaintHorseMares 07-10-2012 04:12 PM

Our mare, Lady, will stand in the water (rubber, 110 gal) and splash enough to wet her neck and chest when it's hot. Luckily, she leaves enough water for everyone else.
Posted via Mobile Device

leapoffaithfarm 07-10-2012 04:18 PM