The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   good all-around supplements (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/good-all-around-supplements-130520/)

aquarianibis 07-11-2012 09:45 PM

good all-around supplements

I'm looking for some advice and opinions on good supplements to feed. I'm considering feeding MSM, but I'd also appreciate some recommendations for all-around supplements. I just got my first horse, and though I've been working with horses for 14 years I'm new at the owning/caring for/making decisions for a horse. My boy is 21 years old (so yeah, he's an old geezer, but we're both cool with that). I don't compete or anything, but he gets ridden pretty much every day, and I would say I ride at a semi-competitive level (I like to challenge him and myself). I appreciate any advice or wisdom or insights or whatever, because I look forward to many happy years with him!

HighonEquine 07-11-2012 11:02 PM

I really.. REALLY like a lot of SmartPak's stuff. They help you figure out exactly what your horses needs are based on his exercise, age, forage, etc. It's awesome! They carry all sorts of supplements, including the all around stuff. Check them out, you won't regret it!:wink:

Me and Smiling Horse 07-12-2012 12:35 AM

Congrats on your new horse! I own and adore a senior gelding. I give him "focus senior" as a vitamin and probiotic supplement (old horses need probiotics), and even if your horse isn't showing any stiffness now it might not be a bad idea to stave it off by keeping his joints healthy with some glucosamine and chondroitin.