The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Working at a local barn (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/working-local-barn-130643/)

Amore 07-12-2012 10:20 PM

Working at a local barn

Do any teenagers work at a local equestrian barn for the keep of their horses or for free lessons?? if so i would love to hear about it and what jobs you do there?! :D:D:D

ninjahorse 07-13-2012 01:10 AM

I used to be a working student at a local eventing barn. Basically, I cleaned the barn, set up jumps, and taught the younger riders basic horsemanship. It was fun and honestly I would have done it for free. There is another barn in my area that has an even better working student and even an internship program. In it you do everything I just mentioned but can bring your horse to the barn and have one free lesson a month. They have an indoor exercising pool for the horses, large arenas, and a half mile track. It is a great deal, but I have a job and can't commit the hours every week to do it.

Amore 07-13-2012 01:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ninjahorse (Post 1595025)
I used to be a working student at a local eventing barn. Basically, I cleaned the barn, set up jumps, and taught the younger riders basic horsemanship. It was fun and honestly I would have done it for free. There is another barn in my area that has an even better working student and even an internship program. In it you do everything I just mentioned but can bring your horse to the barn and have one free lesson a month. They have an indoor exercising pool for the horses, large arenas, and a half mile track. It is a great deal, but I have a job and can't commit the hours every week to do it.

Wow thats so cool!!! I would love to be a working student :-)

Joe4d 07-13-2012 03:15 AM