The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1K views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  sarahmccamly 
#1 ·
So basically the story goes: I have been volunteering at a rescue for almost 2 months now. One horse in particular has taken a liking to me unlike with anyone else. She is a 4 yr old mustang. She is broke to ride and has a ton of hours on the trail but never without another horse. A few weeks ago a trainer got her out to assess her abilities. She came from a good friend so we know that she has indeed been on the trail and was a joy to ride. She was antsy but stood to be saddled. She did not stand to be mounted though, someone had to hold her. She was antsy but cooperative untill she was in sight of the pasture. She tried to go to the pasture and was refused so she completely exploded and threw the trainer. In the process she also stepped on her own rein and scared herself even more, nearly toppling backwards. The trainer was pretty sore so she did not get back on and the mare was untacked and returned to the pasture. Since then she was brought out once into the round pen. She was lunged and proceeded to try and barrel kick the trainer who luckily saw it coming. The trainer corrected it and her behavior got a little better although it is obvious she doesnt like the trainer after their bad experience. Ive agreed to work with the mare since we have that special bond. I would like any advice I could get. Thanks. Oh and one last thing she really likes her butt scratched and often completely turns her butt on you and I find that it is just bad manners for a horse. Any ideas on how to break this habit?

See less See more
#2 ·