The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   How much experience? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/how-much-experience-131696/)

Foxhunter 07-20-2012 05:49 PM

How much experience?

I would find it very interesting to know how many hours of actual riding people have before they get a horse.

If you have been riding for say, five years, was that an hour a week or more?

How many different horses had you ridden before you got your own?

During that time how much was spent on actually handling the horse, learning stable management?

Who taught you feed requirements?

How experienced were you, truthfully, before you bought your own horse?

How much instruction did you take after purchasing your own horse?

Jore 07-20-2012 06:09 PM

Seeing as how my dad is finally on board with getting me a horse. (hopefully late August/early September), I figure I can answer. :)

I've been riding for seven years, since I was nine. I started leasing at around the four year mark. Up until then, it was one hour a week.. but after that, it was more like three or four per week. Recently, it's five or six.

Lily, Mariah, Maggie, Whisper, Molly, Major.. and maybe some others.. so six or so?

During that time how much was spent on actually handling the horse, learning stable management?
Likely about 80%.. at least.

My instructor during one of our barn lessons that we have when the weather is too unco-operative.

I'd like to think I'm relatively experienced in handling, and the care of horses.. and seeing as how I'm boarding, my trainer will be there to help if I need it.

Seven years of it.

Arizahn 07-20-2012 06:38 PM