The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Show This Weekend - Nervous! (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/show-weekend-nervous-131716/)

iamanequestrian 07-20-2012 11:08 PM

Show This Weekend - Nervous!

Hello, well I have a show this weekend and I am sort of nervous! I have been to three shows so far in my life. The first show I simply entered gaming classes. The second show I entered English flat classes. The third show I entered leadline classes, gaming classes, and judged western classes. This will be my fourth show ever. I am entering mine and my horses first jumping classes. We are trying beginner 2 foot fences in equitation and hunter for fun and then entering beginner equitation and hunter flat classes. We are also doing three leadline classes again. Though I have been jumping in lessons for about 6 months now, this is my first time in a show. I don't know how my horse will act! She was very off today, so tommarow I am giving her a linament bath. I want to make sure she feels good before we jump a single fence. I have several questions I would like you guys to answer for me.

1.) I know how to tie my stirrups thanks to countercanter! Thank you so much!

2.) In our leadline class where do I hook the leadrope to? I don't have a nice leather halter (until my birthday!) only a Hamilton neon pink one. Could I hook it to the bit? I heard that was a bad thing though.

3.) In the leadline class - Who should wear the hairnet?! I only have one hairnet right now. The child I will be leading in the ring has shorter hair than I do, so I don't know if it will stay could. Who should wear it?

4.) Courtesy Circle - What are the keys to it? I know what it is, but I am overwhelmed because I have never done it before (I think). Please explain it.