The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   What do I do now? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/what-do-i-do-now-132240/)

HorseExpert 07-25-2012 02:50 PM

What do I do now?

Okay so, I just recently started riding horses again. I started riding lessons when I was 6, and I took lessons for 5 years riding western. I stopped taking lessons when I got my third horse, and that's when all the problems began.
Originally, we were going to look at a horse for my cousin, but when we got to the seller's house, he had another horse tied up and I absolutely fell in love with him. Looking back, I realize that neither me or my cousin should have gotten those horses. I was 11 at the time, and I just recently realized that my horse, Tiger, was probably drugged when we went over to look at him. The reason why I think so is that he's a pretty alert horse, and if you walk up to him he'll interact with you, he's not a dead head or anything like that. But I remember that he was pretty much sleeping when I went up to him, he didn't really sniff me or act curious or anything. My family doesn't know anything about horses, and I should've had someone with me that knew what they were doing, but I wasn't the one that was supposed to get a horse that day so I guess that's why. The seller told us that he would make a great kid's horse, and that he was used as a roping horse at a ranch in Oklahoma and that he had no quirks or vices except that he would get nervous if someone approached him wearing a black cowboy hat. Anyways, we went back a couple days later so I could ride Tiger and decide if I wanted him for sure. What I remember about that was that again, he was very calm, almost sleepy. So of course, we bought him.