The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Thinking English (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/thinking-english-132282/)

SayiWont 07-25-2012 08:50 PM

Thinking English

I have been debating on switching to riding english with my new gelding. We are currently riding western, but it has become apparent that it is not really his thing. To be honest, he moves more like an english horse (floaty, smooth, and elegant) than a western one. I have also always been interested in competing in eventing. :wink:

A little background before the questions:
I have been riding for about 7-8 years now. The vast majority of my experience has been in the western world. However, I did take a couple english lessons and have ridden english a few times since then. When I took lessons before, I got to walking/trotting in the two-point position and began to post the trot. I never got to cantering or anything too complex. :lol:

Now the questions:
I have access to a couple of english saddles, one of which will fit my boy (hopefully). I won't be able to afford lessons for a few more months, so any english riding will be done at home doing what I feel comfortable doing. Keep that in mind when answering my questions. :-)

1) What exercises can I do while not riding that will help with my overall position?
2) What do I need to work on while riding until I can start taking lessons?
3) What should I look for when deciding on what barn to take lessons at?
4) Any other advice?

Thanks in advance for all replies.

tinyliny 07-25-2012 09:25 PM