The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Rider Wellness (http://www.horseforum.com/rider-wellness/)
-   -   Sprained ligament in low back. (http://www.horseforum.com/rider-wellness/sprained-ligament-low-back-132611/)

riccil0ve 07-28-2012 04:08 PM

Sprained ligament in low back.

I hurt my back at work last Friday, and I saw a massage therapist yesterday. In his "I am not a doctor and do not diagnose people" opinion, I sprained the ligament that holds my hip and sacrum together. I am inclined to believe him as the two other people [nurse at the ER and physical therapist] I saw just checked enough to make sure I wasn't looking at disc damage or in need of an x-ray. I was diagnosed with muscle strain and a giant knot in my low back.

Has anyone experienced this before? Any tips? It freaking HURTS. I can't sit or stand for more than 20 minutes at a time, laying down is usually a safe bet, and so is walking. I went back to work yesterday on light duty but I was still in tremendous pain by the end of the day.

tinyliny 07-28-2012 06:20 PM

did that happen in the saddle? That is a bummer, but be glad it is NOT a disc injury. the muscle or ligamnet injury will heal as good as new, where as a disc usually does not.

Rest, antiinflammatories, rest, hot baths, rest, massages. baby yourself. you'll love it!

riccil0ve 07-28-2012 06:47 PM

It happened at work, twisting.

I am glad it's not a disc injury, for sure. I have heard though that ligaments can heal but don't heal back to what they used to be. Like a rubber band stretched too far doesn't un-stretch back to it's normal state.

So far, heat hasn't felt good, but ice feels great. I have 6 massages lined up, just had my first one, and he said he was going to push for 6 more. I'm babying myself as much as I can, but it's so hard to get comfortable.