The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Hunters and Hunter Seat Equitation (http://www.horseforum.com/hunters-hunter-seat-equitation/)
-   -   APHA Hunters! (http://www.horseforum.com/hunters-hunter-seat-equitation/apha-hunters-133110/)

Hoofprints in the Sand 08-01-2012 12:48 PM

APHA Hunters!

Sooooo I've been doing Hunters for about 4 months now (after 3 years of Eventing), and I'm beginning to see that my mare may be a better mover for APHA Hunters (can't do AQHA since she's a Paint!).

I have no clue about Paint Hunters though, can anyone tell me how it differs from regular Hunters (besides the obvious movement differences) and anyone know how I could look up some local shows (I live in northeast Ohio)?

I'm excited at the idea! :D

Coffeejunkie 08-01-2012 01:57 PM

OPHC shows offer hunter hack at the POR shows (4 judge). They don't offer hunter over fences. i have done a lot of traveling and the only show I've seen hunter o/f run is APHA world. If you're interested in Ohio paint shows, check out our site at ophc.org. We have a show this Saturday, and next sat/sun- both in Lima at the fairgrounds. In ohio, Youth entries are free at non POR shows. APHA/stall/camping etc still applies.

kaykat31 08-01-2012 03:40 PM

I did some 4-H/FFA & a little bit of APHA growing up, along with horse judging for FFA. Most APHA(and AQHA) hunters go around much more like western pleasure horses. Their gaits aren't as forward as regular hunters(although they are more forward than WP classes), they have a flatter and lower head & neck, and you ride with a much looser rein. You don't have the WBs & TBs in there though, so I feel like the movement isn't as competitive as in regular.

Hoofprints in the Sand 08-01-2012 03:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coffeejunkie (Post 1626039)