The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

HELP! asap!

3K views 20 replies 5 participants last post by  HorsesAreForever 
#1 ·
Well you probably all saw the video of chance cantering around the rim of the round pen not invading my space what so ever! She gave me all the respect I ever wanted/needed! But today I decided to free lunge her over some jump and she turns into me and skins me with her fur! If i crack the whip [not hitting her] she strikes out with her back feet or gallops at the fence and is about to jump it!!

On our last ride she turned and tried to bite my leg i gave her a kick in the mouth and smacked her she acted up some after wards but we corrected that quickly!

Im quiting riding her for a while and working on free lunging again and just work on ground work! I've lost my respect ever since i started riding everyday.. even leading now she keeps walking into me when i stop!!

What should I do to get my respect back..

If i decide to not ride we will work on lungeing on line and free lungeing .. on both she cuts in. how should i fix this and quick cause i want to ride :P

I think the only riding ill be doing is walking till i get the respect i need

PLEASE help!

See less See more
#2 ·
Here's what I'd do to gain the horse's respect. Be all business for a month or two. Control the horse's head with either a leadrope or a pair of reins at all times. No lunging for awhile, and especially no free lunging at all.

Catch the horse. Tie the horse. Groom, tack up. Ride the horse. Tie the horse, untack, groom. Put the horse away. If you want some bonding time with the horse, do more grooming, or handgraze the horse on a leadrope. The key is this--always control the horse's head for awhile with a leadrope or reins whenever you are with the horse.

Do that for a month or two--all business, this is your job horse--and I think you'll have an easier time of it.