The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Jobs (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-jobs/)
-   -   finding a student position in seattle (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-jobs/finding-student-position-seattle-133651/)

theomega 08-06-2012 01:03 AM

finding a student position in seattle

I've been looking for a working student position at a show jumping/eventing barn in the Seattle area for two and a half years now. I eventually gave up and started taking lessons at an English barn until I found a volunteer position at a western show barn (nationally competitive). I've been riding with them and volunteering for six months.

I've been watching YardandGroom but not a lot has popped up. I've sent my resume out to every position available (not many). There was one that could have worked but it would have been an hour and a half commute every day so I ended up declining. Another I was rejected from because I have no recent show experience (I stopped riding about 5-6 years ago for family reasons and started up again last year). Trying to find a place where I can really work in exchange for not just lessons/riding time but learning to train horses and build a career. I've sent out emails to people twice a year since I moved out here but have almost always heard "we have enough help" as a response.

Is there any advice someone can give to a person who is an adult that wants to get into riding after taking a break during college?