The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Buying my first horse, advice please! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/buying-my-first-horse-advice-please-133673/)

starfia 08-06-2012 12:10 PM

Buying my first horse, advice please!

So here's the deal. I'm 22, I started horse riding at a riding school, at age 20 on and off, I'm a novice rider at the moment. I've been loaning a horse (Black TB cross mare) at my local yard (I'm also close friends with the owner) I look after her horse as well as ride her (so I muck out, make feeds etc.) The yard I'm at does boarding and livery so I have that pretty much sorted.

I'm not going to be launching in and buying a horse right now, but within the next year I was hoping to be a happy owner! Since I haven't done it yet I wanted some advice on horse shopping. I live in the UK. I'm not sure which breed to get, or if it really makes much of a difference, although I'm quiet taken with my TB cross at the moment so was considering a TB x ID. Are these generally good breeds? I'm not sure if that makes any sense? lol

I wanted to come here first before going to an instructor or someone personally, I'd prefer to do that closer to the time I get the horse. I've been doing a lot of reading up (Pony club horsemanship manual! lol). Also how expensive is it to get the horse vetted usually? How much would you suggest to get checked out? How much riding experience would you suggest I should have before buying? How much handling experience should I have? How much time (if any) do you/should you give a horse to "settle in" before hacking out/riding with it? I mainly want to do horse showing (hunter), and hacking out, but I also want to learn to jump. (Not sure if it makes a difference but I'm 5ft 2in and 8st 9lbs, when I last checked)