The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Roping (http://www.horseforum.com/roping/)
-   -   Anyone doing any roping in this heat? (http://www.horseforum.com/roping/anyone-doing-any-roping-heat-133814/)

ropinbiker 08-07-2012 12:48 PM

Anyone doing any roping in this heat?

Howdy all! I am pretty new to the sight and wanted to say that(as you may be able to tell by my usernam) I like to rope, and am just now getting back into team roping after being out of it for about 3 years. Life got a bit busy - horse was getting old - new horse was too young - etc.

Anyway, the youngest daughter starting riding with the local drill team and that got the "i got start roping" juices flowing again.

I have a new to me horse, started as a head horse by the previous owner...so, I'll be training him up while my youngster(3 yo) just learns what being a cow/western horse is all about without the added pressure of catching and then pulling steers. I have roped a few head on the new horse and he seems to have the speed and cow sense necessary to get the job done. I have to work on some issues with his nerves(common problem with a lot of roping/barrel horses that weren't trained the way I like them trained..), but that should be about it.

Just wanted to see if there were any other team ropers/ranch ropers still on the site -- I did read some of the older posts and noticed there were some around a few months ago....but don't see too many newer threads.

COWCHICK77 08-07-2012 05:34 PM

Roperbiker, welcome to the forum! Yep, not too many ropers on here, so the roping section has the tendency to collect dust.