The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Do you think this is a good idea? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/do-you-think-good-idea-134845/)

PaintMare 08-16-2012 11:10 AM

Do you think this is a good idea?

Soo I've been riding for 7 years, I'm 17. I've worked at many barns, helped trainers, showed, ridden LOTS of green horses and I own three horses. We keep them on our property and I do basically all the work to care for them. I started teaching my little sister how to ride on a pony we own. The pony is soo calm, trustable and gentle...you could basically call him a babysitter. And then some friends of my mom's kids wanted to ride and offered to pay me to teach them. So I've been teaching them on the pony. I feel like I do okay at teaching them...they are beginners. We have helmets, liabilty forms and a small fenced in riding area.

So I was wondering if you guys think its okay for a seventeen year old to be teaching beginners how to ride? I don't want a ton of people to be taking lessons....one cause I'm not a "professional trainer" and two because I don't want the pony to be worked to much. I really only want two or three lessons a week.

I've had people tell me I'm good at teaching...but there are some people who call themselves "professionals" even though they're not, say that I have no right teaching

I feel like its not fair for people that do drugs and alcohol, talk on the phone while teaching, walk out of the arena while teaching, yell at their students and don't have a safe farm or safe teaching methods...to call themselves a professional and then tell me I shouldn't be teaching. Even when I don't do any of the things they do.

Soo sorry this was so long....but what do you guys think? Should I be teaching a few kids to ride?

MisssMarie 08-16-2012 11:21 AM

I see no problem in it, so long as you are experienced and careful. Just know what you're doing :)
Posted via Mobile Device