The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Bitless vs Bitted? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/bitless-vs-bitted-135016/)

Randella 08-18-2012 07:18 AM

Bitless vs Bitted?

Hi everyone!

Now, I know this can be a sore subject for some people, and I'm totally not trying to start an all out war about this. And I also know there's a VERY helpful post from Smrobs (I am so sorry if I spelled that wrong), on bits that I have already read more than once, this is a personal question!

My boy was apparently ridden bitless in his home before his previous home, but when I went to try him out he was ridden in a snaffle. I thought nothing of it, and since having him have ridden in a snaffle. I'm just getting into contact with all of his previous owners to try and find out a little more of his history (I'm just curious, there's no health problems or anything). He does the typical TB thing under tack, sticking his tongue out the side of his mouth (and NO the bit is not under his tongue either, he just does it to be a goof).

So I'm wondering if maybe a hackamore or other form of bitless bridle could work better for him? I've just got no experience, and to be honest riding bitless is a new concept for me, as I've always had one.

Anyone switched their horse from bit to bitless? How did you and your horse fair? Better, worse?

Ironless Horse 08-18-2012 07:29 PM

I switched my horse from a bit to a simple bitless rope halter 8 years ago and never went back. I simply kept my horse responding to pressure/release at first but soon realized that there were some big holes that were missing in my riding that I was not aware of when using a bit so, I added more communication and feel with my body. I soon figured out that bits were really not necessary for control and safety. Going bitless forced me to learn more about how to influence my horse through my body and mind. She's 14 yrs old now.