The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Starting out jumping, cheap type of boots for horse (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/starting-out-jumping-cheap-type-boots-135041/)

Leonsbrushofluck 08-18-2012 04:08 PM

Starting out jumping, cheap type of boots for horse

I am just starting out jumping my horse and don't plan on spending 100 dollars on a pair of boots for him for something he may not even continue to do. What other type of boots can I use to help protect his hooves/legs? We're jumping extremely small right now but would rather start now then later.. any help would be great! Or if you're even selling something reasonable! thanks :)

Saskia 08-18-2012 08:32 PM

I personally don't think boots do much.

Just get a pair of brushing boots.

Copperhead 08-18-2012 10:48 PM

I use polo wraps. They are cheap and protect the leg. You have to learn how to wrap them though, or you can injure the horse.

Leonsbrushofluck 08-18-2012 11:48 PM

I know that's kind of why I haven't done them because I don't wanna hurt him!
Posted via Mobile Device

AngieLee 08-18-2012 11:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Leonsbrushofluck (Post 1651001)
I know that's kind of why I haven't done them because I don't wanna hurt him!
Posted via Mobile Device

Do you know anyone who can teach you. I havnt done it in about 2 years so ill need a re-cap next time i use them. but basicly you dont wanna pull on the tendon.

DancingArabian 08-19-2012 12:04 AM

I think the WhinnyWear lady has a video on her website.
Posted via Mobile Device

Copperhead 08-19-2012 12:08 AM

In wrapping the polo wraps, you line the Velcro up and roll it that way.