The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Hoof Care (http://www.horseforum.com/hoof-care/)
-   -   how to ask my farrier to trim a little more aggressively? (http://www.horseforum.com/hoof-care/how-ask-my-farrier-trim-little-135851/)

Rachel1786 08-26-2012 01:25 PM

how to ask my farrier to trim a little more aggressively?

I want to start off by saying I love the woman who trims my mares feet, she does a great job, but I feel(and have been told my other people) that she could take more off the toe. She always trims my horse balanced and my horse has never been sore after a trim. My mare have been growing out really fast and within 4 weeks she is starting to chip. When I look at her feet after she is done I can see she could probably take off another 1/4"-1/2"(I'm not good with measurements so more or less lol, that just seemed like a good number :-P). I don't want her to think that I don't think she knows what she is doing, but I would like her to take her toes back more then she does.

Almond Joy 08-26-2012 01:35 PM

Just say that some of your friends have said something about the longness of the toe, and that when you look at your friend's hooves they seem a bit shorter.

riccil0ve 08-26-2012 01:42 PM

I would phrase it more like a question. Say you are concerned with the length of the toe and the chips at 4 weeks or so, and you are curious if the toe can be brought back more and/or why she leaves the toe a little long in your eyes.
Posted via Mobile Device

MPLdyCop 08-26-2012 03:23 PM

4 Attachment(s)
If she gets more aggressive per your request and the horse ends up sore, are you going to blame her?? Something she may consider.

There are some factors that inhibit shortening the toe on a barefoot horse. Thin soled, short foot height wise, etc.