The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Shows (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-shows/)
-   -   First time showing my own horse....input. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-shows/first-time-showing-my-own-horse-136131/)

Cowgirls Boots 08-29-2012 07:39 PM

First time showing my own horse....input.

125 Attachment(s)
So, impulse decision that I made yesterday, but I've decided to show my one eyed pony mare at a county fair on Monday that is roughly two hours away.

I'm pretty nervous because I'm scrambling to get everything together and scared she will flip out in the ring...or on the trailer by herself...or...i don't know.

This is my first time ever showing her but she was previously a short stirrup pony before I got her and before her accident which caused her to loose an eye. I'm showing in junior walk jog and showmanship and i would just like to get some input.

I'm going to clean her up the night before the show but I'm not sure if I should put a sheet on her and stall her or sheet her and keep her out because I'm not sure how she'll react in her stall in the barn alone and I know she'll be wacky the next day. Also, how would you suggest keeping her clean if I leave her out? I really wana stall her but i don't want her to be a freak after being stalled and then not load.

I also plan to wrap her tail completely up (like a polo pony has it) with a polo wrap to prevent her from pooing on herself in the trailer.

Also, my tack doesn't even match. It's a quiet fun county show but still. Being so last minute I can't just dump a bunch of moolah on new tack...I have a custom made orange camo bling headstall and breastcollar that I plan on using with my tan barrel saddle that has silver on it and I am planning on wearing black show attire with a black hat and a orange show blanket. My headstalls leather is dark brown and doesn't match the saddle but it's barely visible because the camo is covering it.