The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   horse with possible EPM (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/horse-possible-epm-136352/)

Leonsbrushofluck 09-01-2012 12:49 PM

horse with possible EPM

Can anyone help me with this.. i'm a heavy researcher in just about everything, and I can't help but research this. My vet was just out and was looking at my Walker's movement and what have you and she heavily thinks he has EPM. So we did the test and now i'm waiting for the results. She said they should be back by the end of the week.. Will I have a ridable horse after this? Will he survive? I just don't know enough about it to answer these questions.. help would be appreciated!:-(

DRichmond 09-02-2012 04:14 AM

I hope the tests come back negative. While you're waiting for the results, did your vet give any meds or provide you with any instructions while you're waiting?

I know not every case of EPM is a death sentence or resolves in permanent disability so please have hope. There are some pretty successful (and pretty affordable) holistic approaches to EPM which could be considered if you and your vet are amenable to them. If you google the words "horses, EPM, and holistic" you'll find some pretty good websites which may lift your spirits :)

Dreamcatcher Arabians 09-02-2012 08:53 AM

Is your vet familiar with the way a Walker moves? I have heard of other people having vets think their horse had EPM and it turned out to just be the horse's natural movement (kinda wonky in the back end?). I'm not familiar with how they move, so can't really explain any better. Why does she think the horse has EPM?

eclipseranch 09-02-2012 09:17 AM