The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Show Critique! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/show-critique-136705/)

IndiesaurusRex 09-04-2012 04:31 PM

Show Critique!

6 Attachment(s)
So, a few of you with awesome memories might remember a thread I created about a year ago of me with this same horse at our first show. So, a year on, here we are again! This is our second show, and bear in mind, he is a riding school horse, so does everything from taking complete beginners out on lead rein rides, to being ridden by fairly experienced people in schooling lessons.

So yes, tear us apart! For anyone interested, his name is Riddle (Jimmy Riddle on his passport, I don't know if any of you are educated in Cockney Rhyming Slang... :wink: ), he is of completely unknown breeding, but we believe he has some Clydesdale in him due to his broken splashes. Oh yeah, and he is 6/7 years old, and wearing a waterford snaffle.

PS. He is technically not mine, so try to stick to critiques of me! I suppose suggestions on my technique to improve his way of going are allowed.

horseluver2435 09-05-2012 06:41 PM

First, I want to say he is beautiful! Looks like you both had fun, which to me is the most important part of showing (and riding!). My only critique is to raise your hands a little- right now they look like they are resting on his withers, they need to be above them. Also, your feet are turned out a little far- looks like you are gripping with the back of your calf instead of the 'inside'? Wow, I'm terrible at explaining, so I'm going to stop, hopefully someone else can help. (: Keep riding & having fun!

EquineBovine 09-06-2012 12:18 AM

He is a VERY handsome chap and you're both turned out nicely! Just watch your hands don't get too low and it might just be me but 2nd photo looks like your stirrup could go up a notch? Could just be the angle thought :o)
Keep at it! :oD