The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Critique my jumping please :D (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/critique-my-jumping-please-d-136719/)

JessXxX 09-04-2012 08:10 PM

Critique my jumping please :D

This is me jumping today the pony is only 11.2hh shes a riding school pony I ride occasinally to spice things up a bit for her. I'm not too experienced in jumping I've had a few lessons but as my pony is very green and we have not started jumping yet I haven't really jumped in 2 years. I am in the UK I'm not sure iof this makes a difference but I know the styles can differ. The thngs I see from this photos is: I need to tuck my elbows in I have a case of chicken wings going on! I need to release more with more of a crest release? My toes are pointing out and not in. I know that you guys will probably be able to see a lot more things to improve on and things I do good to!

I was also wondering if you could give me tips on how you improve your jumping because it always seems that when I get to the jump I forget everything I need to improve on.

A huge thank you to anyone who replies :)

EDIT: I also have a video of this jump if anyone would like to see it aswell?

http://oi47.tinypic.com/10ye7sw.jpg

JessXxX 09-04-2012 09:39 PM

Heres another video still :)

http://oi47.tinypic.com/2ai2a36.jpg

Ashsunnyeventer 09-04-2012 09:50 PM

You need to release- grab some of the pony's mane to help you
Like you said- toes forward and elbows in (if you release more that might help the elbow problem) Other than that, just keep practicing as much as you can. Practice makes perfect :)
This jump isn't huge and the pony is still taking off, so it's kind of hard to say anything more :) Hope I helped...

EDIT: My trainer used to tell me "WHEELS" right before the jump to help.
W- wait (don't over jump)
H- hands (release)
E- eyes (look where you are going)
E- elbows (tuck 'em in)