The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Colors and Genetics (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-colors-genetics/)
-   -   Help: What APHA pattern is Calypso? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-colors-genetics/help-what-apha-pattern-calypso-137326/)

Lwhisperer 09-11-2012 03:23 AM

Help: What APHA pattern is Calypso?

I've been researching online since I bought her this summer and am still very confused... I've never seen a Paint quite like her, and she seems to have markings that are consistent with entirely different patterns... And I'm no professional with APHA patterns. I know she is registered as a Bay Tobiano/Overo. At first I thought she was just a "Tovero," but I've read that "tovero" is an often misused and is a "too general term" to accurately describe most patterns. I know she's not a typical Tobiano, and I know she's not a typical Overo! So what IS she??? Any suggestions or help is gratefully accepted!

A quick overall description since her pics aren't super great:
-Two blue eyes (both have black-ish spots around them)
-Mostly white face (very large brown patch on left side, and mostly black lips)
-Has ALMOST medicine hat ears, but one is white on the back with brown speckles!
-Has many black points, so I'm sure she's a Bay at least. :)
-Very large body patches
-Back line is broken (white on top of hindquarters and withers)
-Many "cat tracks" just behind shoulders and around barrel area (I read this is typical of homozygous tobianos?)
-Some roaned out edges on the big patches (overo? sabino?)
-All 4 legs mostly white, but front left has a large patch at the top.

Phew! Sorry post is so long. Here are a couple pics to help, and you can check her out in my "barn" as well if that helps! Thanks so much! :-)

Lwhisperer 09-11-2012 03:32 AM

Hmm, I've having technical difficulties getting the pictures to post... Please go to my "barn" on my profile. I have many pictures of Calypso on her page. Thanks again for the help!

Lwhisperer 09-11-2012 04:36 AM