The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Boarding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-boarding/)
-   -   Switching barns...Just looking for reassurance or something. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-boarding/switching-barns-just-looking-reassurance-something-137542/)

DotDotDash 09-13-2012 01:43 PM

Switching barns...Just looking for reassurance or something.

So I've been riding at the same place for more than seven years now, ever since I first started taking lessons as a kid. It's a very nice place, it's run by a responsible and nice person, I was quite happy with it for a long time.

Lately though, I haven't been getting anything out of riding there. It's a very structured environment, if more casual than what I think of a show barn would be. If you have a horse there, you take lessons regularly and pay attention to what the barn owner/instructor says. There's not much space, and there isn't much time for just fun stuff either. I'm not a kid anymore, and I don't think I need so much direction.

I don't like pressure, I don't need to try to be perfect and strive for higher things and be serious about all of this stuff all the time. My trainer said that I should keep doing shows for my self-esteem, but I haven't been enjoying them for a while. I have fine self-esteem in other things, but it certainly takes a temporary blow if I do badly at a show, and I don't actually care that much if I win (I've been trained well that it isn't horrible if I come in last place, so first place doesn't affect me either lol). Last time I showed the green horse I was leasing I was so stressed out and miserable that he ended up running away with me within minutes of entering the practice ring, then on the actual show days I barely managed to get through them without another mental breakdown - I felt like I had failed, and wasted the time/confidence of my trainer and the money of my parents. My self-esteem just doesn't depend on doing well at a show.