The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Critique my jumping! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/critique-my-jumping-137588/)

FoxFireJoey 09-13-2012 08:56 PM

Critique my jumping!

Hey guys, this is me riding Paco for the first time. I just started taking lessons at a different barn from where I board my horse. I'm working on eventing here. Anyways first time doing this stuff, so what do you think? :)

Fudgelove 09-14-2012 01:01 PM

You guys look great! Sorry Im not really good at critiquing :D

JustDressageIt 09-14-2012 01:06 PM

I'm subscribing to reply later.
Just a quick observation based off the still image that I see as a preview for the first two videos: your arms are straight and pushed towards the horse's neck and your shoulders are rolled forward and hunched. What I worry with that is you may be riding to the fence then dropping your horse at the base, letting them have to figure it out on their own.
Will watch the videos when I have a wifi connection.
Posted via Mobile Device

JustDressageIt 09-14-2012 10:24 PM

FFJ, how long have you been jumping? What I see is that you're a classic "passenger" rider rather than being a proactive rider. This is fine when you have an honest horse and you're just learning! However, you will find that being a passenger will land you in all sorts of trouble when you're on a horse that doesn't know how to judge distance on its own or isn't as honest to the base of the jump.