The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Buying a Brumby - Smart? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/buying-brumby-smart-137929/)

Tracer 09-17-2012 04:13 AM

Buying a Brumby - Smart?

This is going to need a bit of a lead up, so bear with me.

I'm the sort of person who most definitely belongs in the plus-size forum, and I'm true enough to myself to admit that I fall into the intermediate rider category only when I'm on a horse I know and trust. The rest of the time I'm a confident beginner - I can walk and trot fine, but canter puts a bit on my nerves when it's with a new horse whose gait I'm not used to. I can stay on a horse that shies, and have successfully sat a rear and pigroot about as many times as I've fallen off because of them.

Now that that's out of the way, am I a fool for wanting to buy an unbroken brumby? It's always been my dream to have a brumby, ever since I was a little girl, and to break it in myself is a more recent dream. I've 'sacked out' a horse before, worked on desensitizing and done mouthing, but I've never actually broken one to saddle, and I wouldn't hesitate to find someone to do that for me.

Even so, brumbies are rare to find over 15HH, and I'm a big girl. Surely it would be cruel for the poor thing to go from wild to having someone like me on it with a good lot of time in between. Not only that, but would I even be a good enough rider to educate it under saddle? I've only recently learned leg aids (I'm basically a self-taught rider), and I'm worried that I would cause more damage than good.

I want honesty here guys. Should I give up on this as a dream for the near future? There's a beautiful brumby filly that I have my eye on who was leading beautifully after her first training session and is expected to mature to at least 15HH.

thesilverspear 09-17-2012 04:19 AM