The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Down sides to Spanish Walk? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/down-sides-spanish-walk-138141/)

EthanQ 09-18-2012 11:42 PM

Down sides to Spanish Walk?

I recently have thought and even started training my gelding Dollar how to Spanish Walk while waiting for the farrier to visit for his trim. But, is there any down sides to teaching your horse this? I am starting out with the tapping on the legs and teaching him to life them, then going to do work on the weight shifting and rein lifting from the saddle. Will this backfire on me later on though? Anyone have any experience with this? Thanks! I'd also love to see some pics of your horses doing it if they know how!

MidsummerFable 09-18-2012 11:45 PM

My horse did it one time when he got frustrated cause I was ground driving him and he couldn't see me.
But that was just a random thing and I have no experience with it really.

Kayty 09-18-2012 11:49 PM

A friend of mine taught her horse the Spanish Walk as a trick, unfortunately he now reverts to it everytime he wants a treat, or thinks whatever else he is being asked to do is too hard.
You also need to be careful, as you may wind up teaching the horse to strike - great way of snapping your femur in half.

Muppetgirl 09-18-2012 11:49 PM

I really don't know....however the farrier hated it when I taught one of the young horses to take a bow....darn horse would bow every time the farrier picked up his front feet from the front!!!:lol:

deserthorsewoman 09-18-2012 11:50 PM

Many moons ago I had my horses boarded at a place where they did Doma Vaquera.
They started tapping lightly with a dressage whip, then, from the saddle first a whip in each hand giving the command together with the rein aid, then eventually rein only. They said the hard part is to engage the hind end too, so the horse doesn't drag it.
How, they never said...