The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Conformation Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-conformation-critique/)
-   -   Critique my draft cross? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-conformation-critique/critique-my-draft-cross-138199/)

Magaidh 09-19-2012 02:49 PM

Critique my draft cross?

2 Attachment(s)
Hi guys, I'm curious as to what you think of this boy's conformation.
He is 16.2-ish, Percheron crossed with Oldenburg. Turning gray.
First, a shot from the week after I got him last spring (age of nine months). Followed by a shot of him a month after his second birthday.

I don't have any big competition goals for him, simply an all-round horse to dabble in low level competition and just have fun.

But would like to get some insight into how he's put together, as I am not an expert in conformation by any means.

Thanks!

WesternTale 09-19-2012 02:59 PM

looks cow hocked in the back. Otherwise, nice horse.
Posted via Mobile Device

lilruffian 09-19-2012 08:33 PM

Difficult to say until he has completely finished growing.
Right now he appears to have a good shoulder on him
I like his neck set as well
Front legs look solid with big knees, which lead me to believe he will be a solidly built fellow.
Pasterns are just a tad long and he is set back on them
Back is so far of a good length
Very sharp angle to his croup
Gives me the impression that he might be posty in the hind legs, but it is difficult to say without him standing square. the same goes for the cowhocks

Magaidh 09-19-2012 09:29 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Thanks for the insight guys.
I know what you mean about growing. It's unbelievable how much he's changed already in the past year and a half.

What would the sharp croup angle mean for him?

I will have to get some further conformation shots of him. I don't think this one is directly side-on. Here's another, and I'll grab some front/back shots next time I'm out at the barn...

Coconut Cruncher 09-19-2012 11:51 PM