The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Barrel Racing (http://www.horseforum.com/barrel-racing/)
-   -   Barrel Racer Build? (http://www.horseforum.com/barrel-racing/barrel-racer-build-138325/)

The Northwest Cowgirl 09-20-2012 08:10 PM

Barrel Racer Build?

3 Attachment(s)
Hi :)
How does Jakie here look?
Does he have a good build for barrel racing??
I was looking through some posts, and got a lil' curious about him.
Thanks!

BarrelracingArabian 09-20-2012 08:43 PM

Looks sore.... but his back looks nice and short, looks like he has a decent rear end that could get even better with more muscling, his neck looks a bit short tied to a fairly larg but cute head, i personally would like to see a bit more bone with his legs but that is about all i could tell you im still learning confo myself.
Posted via Mobile Device

jumanji321 09-21-2012 12:41 AM

Are his hooves pink in the last photo?

DrumRunner 09-21-2012 01:09 AM

I'm on my phone and can't see the pictures as big as I would like butI'll just go off of that.. His back is a little long, not too bad but if you don't watch it and properly muscle that area and check for problems you could have problems down the road..His neck does tie in a little funky but over all I don't think he's built badly..He'll look better with more muscling and work.. The biggest thing for him is if he has the mindset for barrels, it's a lot of stress mentally and physically.. What level of competition are you looking to get into?

BarrelRacer67 09-21-2012 01:26 PM

I don't know about his confo but I love the pink hooves!! :)
Posted via Mobile Device

The Northwest Cowgirl 09-22-2012 12:02 AM

haha!
Thanks everyone!
Yeah I think he's pretty sore, still getting used to the rocky ground up here (he's not shod...) That's something that worries me a lot, I'm not too good about telling how he's feeling yet....