The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeds (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/)
-   -   Do people really think American Warmbloods are just mutts? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/do-people-really-think-american-warmbloods-13856/)

whitetrashwarmblood 08-24-2008 07:03 PM

Do people really think American Warmbloods are just mutts?

I know a lot of people who claim that the breed is lousy, and that the horses turn out to be a waste. I own an AW and she's an awesome horse. I just was curious about you guys think...

farmpony84 08-24-2008 08:11 PM

I don't think it's a lousy breed, They do have standards and in order to be registered they have several "tests" they have to do... And (not that I'm an expert on the breed) I believe they even have different levels when they are registered... like blue and gold and maybe red?

But yeah... I think they are mutts... teehee.... Nothing wrong with a mutt though... I mean that is after all, what america is made of!!! Lot's of colors races and creeds all mixed together in one big melting pot!!!!

Sara 08-24-2008 09:44 PM

I'm sorry, but any registry that lumps together a draft cross, an oldenberg and a saddlebred/friesian/qh/tb...no (I'm not making that up, I saw one on equine.com :P ). Someday, the AW might solidify into something good. But right now, they are all over the map in regards to type and quality. Just another set of initials to tack on your sales ad.

That being said, there are some very nice horses registered AW.

Spyder 08-24-2008 10:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sara
I'm sorry, but any registry that lumps together a draft cross, an oldenberg and a saddlebred/friesian/qh/tb...no (I'm not making that up, I saw one on equine.com :P .

And I get upset when people take any description listed on sales sites like those without checking, because 95 % are in fact NOT AWR or AWS but just using the AW name to get listed in the warmblood group.