The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Eventing (http://www.horseforum.com/eventing/)
-   -   Starting Eventing! (http://www.horseforum.com/eventing/starting-eventing-138758/)

FoxFireJoey 09-25-2012 06:25 PM

Starting Eventing!

Hey guys, I'm starting eventing at a new barn and was just wondering if you have any tips, stories, ideas, anything at all that could help. I have been riding for 6 years and have done jumping up to 3 feet so I know how to jump at least. I have a little bit of experience in dressage, but not much. I have been doing hunter for a year or so, but don't like it and have always wanted to event. I have my own horse, but he doesn't event, so I am just taking lessons a few times a week. So just anything, what you think about eventing, is it fun? Thanks :)

MyBoyPuck 09-25-2012 06:50 PM

Eventing is a blast! I have only been doing it for two years, but everyone I have met has been nice, the sport is so fun it's ridiculous and most horses seem to enjoy it. You just can't beat cantering across a big field and jumping natural fences.

If you're already jumping 3', while you may have to adjust your jumping style a bit to suit the discipline, you should be able to make the transition relatively easy. If you don't already, right outside of a ring as much as you can. Get yourself used to trotting and cantering on uneven terrain.

As for dressage, it is key for the lower levels of eventing. Usually the best dressage score wins the day since the jumps are easy and straight forward. Even if you have to go back to square one, learn dressage and learn it well.

Be safe, don't overface yourself and have lots of fun!!! Welcome to the dark side.

ChingazMyBoy 09-27-2012 04:02 AM

Eventing is an excellent sport and really shows off how many different things a horse and rider team can do.