The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Trainers (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-trainers/)
-   -   Andrew Mc Lean? your idea? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-trainers/andrew-mc-lean-your-idea-139169/)

Dame Nuit 09-30-2012 04:13 AM

Andrew Mc Lean? your idea?

Who have eared about Mc Lean behaviorism training? Know somebody working with this method?
What's your impression about it?

corymbia 10-04-2012 06:20 PM

I have been using Dr Andrew McLean's techniques for 15 years. They are excellent. His is the only current system which is based on scientific research in horse and animal behavior, though more trainers are starting to use these ideas. The principles on which the system is based are universal and apply to all training methods and all horses. They can be applied to natural horsemanship and conventional training systems.

They are based on the lastest research into how horses learn, how they perceive the world (sight, sound, touch, move etc) and biomechanics.

The system is genuinely based on putting horse welfare as the top priority. It puts how the horse responds at the centre of all cues and techniques, and if the horse doesn't do what is asked, it is always up to the trainer to work out why, rather than blame the horse for being disrespectful or arrogant.

The universal training principles which were developed by Dr McLean and Professor Paul McGreevy have since been adopted by the International Society for Equitation Science which is a group of world leading equine behavior scientists, many of whom are also professional horse trainers as well.

The training principles can be found here:

Learning theory in equitation