The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Saddle pad recommendation - Western (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/saddle-pad-recommendation-western-139232/)

nikelodeon79 09-30-2012 07:29 PM

Saddle pad recommendation - Western

I'm eventually going to be riding Dressage but while my horse is green and I'm still learning the proper position, my trainer wants me in a Western saddle. That's fine with me, since I feel more secure (I've ridden western my entire life) and I planned on getting a Western saddle for trail riding, anyway.

My trainer prefers Pro Choice or thick wool pads. What brands/types of pad would you guys recommend?

SouthernTrails 09-30-2012 07:32 PM

I like these, good price

EC85- Diamond Wool Endurance Contoured Felt Saddle Pad

JustDressageIt 09-30-2012 07:34 PM

I love the Pro Choice ESP pads. It's what I would use if I rode western. They have a contoured back, are made if breathable wool and memory foam in the middle.
(I used to work in a tack store.)
Posted via Mobile Device

NorthernMama 09-30-2012 09:30 PM

Subbing because I am shopping as well for a western saddle pad.

I'd like to have something that has like a liner under it so I can wash the liner. All the pads I have now I wash with a pressure washer, but they never seem to be clean anymore and I don't think the pressure washer is doing the pads any favours.

SorrelHorse 10-01-2012 05:26 PM

Well I'm not sure how much you want to spend but I LOVE Won pads and Impact Gel pads.

CONTOUR FELT Pad.

Wonpad in Work/Protective at Schneider Saddlery

I like the material on tacky too pads as well and they are a little less expensive.

Reinsman Tacky Too Square Pad - Horse.com

nikelodeon79 10-01-2012 05:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JustDressageIt (Post 1702411)