The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Driving (http://www.horseforum.com/driving/)
-   -   To clip or not to clip? Harness Training this Winter (http://www.horseforum.com/driving/clip-not-clip-harness-training-winter-139375/)

equinluvr 10-02-2012 12:55 PM

To clip or not to clip? Harness Training this Winter

1 Attachment(s)
Some of you have seen my pony mare Truffles on the other post thru out the Forum. My plans are to train her to harness and cart this winter.

My question is should I clip her since she gets a real heavy winter coat (even though we get very mild winter her in Myrtle Beach SC).

It hardly gets below 30'. I was told that the harness can pull on the winter coat and create sores. I would of course keep her in a turnout blanket.

So what are you opinions?

Attachment 113896

G8tdh0rse 10-02-2012 03:02 PM

I really don't know since I am new to driving. I have never clipped any of my horses in the winter. Some pony breeds do grow a really thick coat. Perhaps an expert will answer your post.

Taffy Clayton 10-02-2012 07:27 PM

Truffles is so cute.

I do not clip my horses.
I try not to get them sweaty when it is super cold. That is just me though. I do not like cold weather.
You can ask yourself how much driving you are going to do.
In all actuallity you will be mostly ground driving and going about things slow. You are probably not going to go miles down the road, but you might, something to think about. If the harness pulls his hair, you can get a pad to help alliviate that problem.
If harness training is the only reason you are going to clip, I personally would save myself the aggrivation.

Truffles is going to be so cute driving!!!!

equinluvr 10-03-2012 07:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Taffy Clayton (Post 1704636)
Truffles is so cute.

I do not clip my horses.
I try not to get them sweaty when it is super cold. That is just me though. I do not like cold weather.
You can ask yourself how much driving you are going to do.