The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

New Hunter - Horse's Hunter Movement?

3K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  JustDressageIt 
#1 ·
Hi :)
I'm brand new to the showing world, even though I've been riding horses for a while. The only show I've been able to find in my area is a hunter show. It's a pretty well known show, but it's fun too. (it's a hunter show)
I have a 20 year old thoroughbred mare. I bought her a year ago, and we didn't really know much about buying horses. She had been at pasture for 8 months, and we never had contact with her owner (we bought her through the barn manager), so we didn't know much about her. (Yeah, some bad choices, I'll never do that again...)
Anyways, I'm wondering if she'd do OK in a hunter show. Please tell me how I can improve her movement and lower her head and collect her! :) (In the video, please ignore my equitation and how I'm riding - we had a very off day and I had the wrong saddle & everything )
Here's a video: Random Video - Will Delete :) - YouTube

#3 ·
Your mare is very cute, and an appropriate hunter type. She's a pretty fair mover as well, and she seems to have a lovely attitude.

Please tell me how I can improve her movement and lower her head and collect her!
Her head and neck are high because she moves with a hollow/stiff back (pretty common in TBs). If you did some basic dressage flat work with her, got her working from her hind end more, and using her back, her head and neck carriage would improve and her already good movement would get even better. I would call that "connection" rather the collection; I like to reserve the word collection for its narrowest, dressage meaning, but lots of people do use it to mean moving through the back and traveling in a more united organized fashion like I suspect you want her to.