The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Pleasure (http://www.horseforum.com/western-pleasure/)
-   -   Jeans question from a man (http://www.horseforum.com/western-pleasure/jeans-question-man-139665/)

apw1970 10-05-2012 12:31 PM

Jeans question from a man

Hi.

I have ridden English for the past 2 years, but I'm still a beginner. Long story, but my instructor wants me to ride Western for awhile to improve my balance and to get my seat better.

What kind of jeans are best? I always have worn breeches and tall boots.

Does it matter where the seam on the pants is? Pronounced seam on the inside - will it rub badly?

I have a lot of cowboy boots, so that's not an issue.

Speed Racer 10-05-2012 12:45 PM

Why can't you wear your breeches? There's no law that says you can't wear breeches while riding in a Western saddle.

I also don't understand riding in a Western saddle to improve your balance and seat, since English and Western disciplines are miles apart when it comes to those two things.

Ashleysmardigrasgirl 10-05-2012 12:56 PM

i agree with speed racer,

Jeans if worn with western chaps are very stick and will help you hold your seat especially in high performance manuvers. Otherwise plain jeans are fine; Ive even heard of some young ladies even wearing their expensive designer jeans to shovel poop in, LOL! Personally, I prefer the full seat breech because of how comfy and nonconstrictive they are but when I ride western I rarely wear them or chaps for that matter as it isn't that important to me and my balance in pretty good. For that matter I have a hard time recalling very many people who rode western religiously (wouldn't touch an english saddle with a 40' pole) wearing anything but the wranglers and touted "the leather branded label"...

apw1970 10-05-2012 01:36 PM

thanks!

Thanks for the info on the jeans. I might still wear my breeches.