The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeds (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/)
-   -   Doc Bar Mare? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/doc-bar-mare-140021/)

KSL 10-09-2012 12:52 PM

Doc Bar Mare?

I've trained this mare since she was little and she was recently given to me by a family friend after their divorce and I got a hold of her papers.

I'm no expert, but isnt Doc Bar a big name?

She is trained in reining and cutting and has an awesome handle. Really nice horse. With her breeding (if it is even anything?) how much would she be worth? I know training and skills can't be accounted for... I guess I'm asking if her breeding adds anything to her value.

Here's the link.

http://www.allbreedpedigree.com/sugar+doc+prescription

As you can tell, I love learning more about pedigrees and breeding, although it doesn't change how I use my horses.
Posted via Mobile Device

MangoRoX87 10-09-2012 02:08 PM

Doc Bar is a very big name with QH, but you'll see it in A LOT of bloodlines. Like, we are talking HUNDREDS of offspring. If I had a dollar for how many horses I know that go back to Doc Bar... :)

I wouldn't count it as something that would make her any more expensive of a horse, at all.

KSL 10-09-2012 02:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MangoRoX87 (Post 1712454)
Doc Bar is a very big name with QH, but you'll see it in A LOT of bloodlines. Like, we are talking HUNDREDS of offspring. If I had a dollar for how many horses I know that go back to Doc Bar... :)

I wouldn't count it as something that would make her any more expensive of a horse, at all.

Not more "expensive." Just more valuable.

He is really close on her bloodlines.

MangoRoX87 10-09-2012 02:30 PM

Even then, it's such a popular bloodline.