The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Bits... (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/bits-140700/)

JustWingIt 10-16-2012 08:01 PM

Bits...

So after being on this forum for a few weeks I have read many things about bits. I was wondering how you can tell if your horse likes or dislikes the bit. Right now my geldings in a full cheek snaffle which is what I have been using since I got him in February, but I'm not sure if hes completely happy with it. Often when I'm riding he will open his mouth a lot or grind his teeth. He is usually a very soft mouthed horse, but sometimes he braces and pulls or flips his head when I ask him to whoa.

So should I try a different bit?
How will I know when hes happy with the bit?
Do you have any bit suggestions for me?

Bear with me please, I don't know much about bits at all :)

JackOfAllTrades 10-16-2012 08:13 PM

Heyy, First off I would like to say I am NO EXPERT!!!!! But my horse has troubles with the bit to. You can tell when a horse is unhappy with the bit if he/she is consistantly tossing their head( no because of flies ), chomps on it, or is regularly opening their mouth ( like excessively ). Also if its only when you go to stop him, try to stop by using your seat more ( lean back and exhale ). Also, I would ask a trainer/ more knowable person than me! Hope this helps!

PunksTank 10-16-2012 08:28 PM

This is a tough question, as it truly depends on the horse. Fussing with a bit could be caused from being a general grouch, not wanting to do the command asked, not trained well enough in the cue being asked, potential pain, needing their teeth floated.
Bits/bridles are also meant to be a secondary cue, not designed to be completely dependent on. So, when asking for the 'woah' it shouldn't consist completely of pulling on the reins, but also a deep heavy seat and potentially a verbal cue. It also depends on how soft/strong the hands behind the reins are.