The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Hunters and Hunter Seat Equitation (http://www.horseforum.com/hunters-hunter-seat-equitation/)
-   -   Lower leg position (http://www.horseforum.com/hunters-hunter-seat-equitation/lower-leg-position-141057/)

nightoverture 10-20-2012 04:29 PM

Lower leg position

HELP!

I am having trouble keeping the position of my lower left leg. My right leg is fairly secure and in the correct position, but my left leg wants to keep sliding forward. I feel like my left leg is useless and it's just there. For many years I rode with my heals jammed down and my leg too far forward. I have a new trainer that I have been working with for several months, and he's really been working on correcting my position. Previous trainers just had me go around in two-point, and tell me what fences to jump without any real critique or instruction. My equitation has improved a lot, but I don't know what to do to correct my left leg. Any exercises or suggestions?

Thank you!

MyBoyPuck 10-20-2012 04:58 PM

Yup. Drop your left stirrup and ride around like that. You left leg will have to stay in place or off you go.

livelovelaughride 10-25-2012 01:29 AM

I have the same problem. Posting with one stirrup (the right in) helps, as well as without stirrups. Though without stirrups my lower leg position is great, but when I take back the stirrups the problem seems to return. Esp. on sit trot!
My instructor used to take twine and tie my stirrup to the girth for me to get a better feel of the lower leg position. That too is somewhat helpful.

countercanter 10-25-2012 12:52 PM

It will take some time, but you have to retrain your muscles from how you used to hold your leg to how it should be. If it continues to be a problem, I would suggest going tot he chiropractor. A friend of mine had a similar problem and it turns out her pelvis was crooked, it fixed all kinds of problems in her riding.

showjumper09 11-08-2012 02:55 PM