The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Eventing (http://www.horseforum.com/eventing/)
-   -   Eventing cloths? :) (http://www.horseforum.com/eventing/eventing-cloths-141121/)

FoxFireJoey 10-21-2012 07:30 AM

Eventing cloths? :)

Hey guys, I am starting eventing! I actually already have, but my instructor thinks its time for me to get all riding gear and cloths I am going to need and also things my horse is going to need... I'm kinda clueless since this is my first time having to buy this stuff so if you could give me an idea that would be great!! Thanks :)

equiniphile 10-21-2012 09:09 AM

For dressage and stadium you'll need white breeches, tall boots, a ratcatcher with a stock tie, gloves, and a coat. Any color breeches for cross country are generally accepted, but you'll need an eventing vest for this phase. A watch is helpful but not necessary at the lower levels, but you will need a medical armband. Shirt is really up to your discretion....I use a polo but that's just because I think it looks a lot neater than a regular Tee. Certified helmet for all phases is a must. A crop is good to have as well.

Do you have your own horse that you need to buy tack for as well?

FoxFireJoey 10-21-2012 09:10 AM

Thaanks thats reaally helpful! And yess i do have a horse i need to but tack for
Posted via Mobile Device

Strange 10-21-2012 01:26 PM

To expand on what equiniphile said; for the lower levels, light tan or beige breeches are fine for dressage. In fact, I'd recommend them, because you can use the same one for show jumping and XC provided they don't get too dirty on day 1. My advice is to just buy a pair of your favorite brand of breeches in a light beige or tan color and keep them only for shows. You will need gloves for dressage, but I suggest black, unless you have very, very quiet hands. White gloves make it easier for the judge to see your hands, and if your hands are still a little busy, you don't want the judge to see that!