The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Just a few questions. (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/just-few-questions-141397/)

xkarmax 10-23-2012 06:54 PM

Just a few questions.

Hello, I'm new to the fourm. I'm 14, and haven't had a ton of experience riding. I took western lessons for about a year when I was younger, and about four months ago started leasing out a western horse four days a week. It's been great & I love it. However, I know that I won't go anywhere just riding by myself without a trainer or anything. I want to start jumping, but I have no idea where to start. I've asked the lady whose horse I lease and she's going to be talking to a few people she knows. In the mean time, I wanted to ask a few questions. I'm obviously not very experienced and I'll be the first to admit that. Anyway, the horse I lease is amazing and I love him but I just haven't been able to connect with him. I can get him to do what I want, but that's about the only thing I've been able to achieve with him. He is also 17, and has never been ridden english. Should I find a new horse to lease? Should I buy one? I like the idea of getting a horse and learning with it, because at this point I'm only allowed to ride three days a week because of the owner. I'm just not sure and really don't know what to do. Thanks.

tinyliny 10-23-2012 07:03 PM

four months of riding a couple of times a week is nothing. It takes a long time to really know your horse, especially if your overall experience wtih horses is still young.

Can you do some trail riding? Can you have someone show you how to free lunge in a round pen? These are things that help build a connection to the horse. Also , sometimes hanging out in the field helps.

HOw do you know you are not connected? what are you expecting to feel?

xkarmax 10-23-2012 07:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tinyliny (Post 1730126)