The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Miniature Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/miniature-horses/)
-   -   Dwarf Mini for a Special Purpose (http://www.horseforum.com/miniature-horses/dwarf-mini-special-purpose-141561/)

Magic1 10-25-2012 01:20 PM

Dwarf Mini for a Special Purpose

Ok - Please don't judge me for seeking a dwarf! I am by no means an advocate of breeding for dwarfism. I am aware that many of these little horses end up with painful deformities and health problems, but I also know that just by chance sometimes a dwarf is born and I can provide one with an great and loving home!

I have a 12 year old mini that I have done pet therapy with for several years. I am a registered nurse and a huge advocate for alternative therapies in hopsitals, nursing homes, and even for children with special needs/disabilities. I love my mini (Magic) and we both love the joy that we bring to others. I have owned him for 11 years. The problem is that even at 34 inches, he is still too big to access all areas we would like to go.

I want to offer a wonderful life-long home to a dwarf. He/She would live out its days in a paddock right behind my house with my other mini and 2 pygmy goats. My new horse would only travel for pet therapy about once a month. Every other day he/she would just be spoiled and adored by myself and my three children. My new horse would need to be quite small of course with a good temperament. Nothing else matters (color, sex, comformation, age, etc.) I would even consider a special needs case.

I can afford to give all of my animals any care they will ever need but because I do not want to encourage the breeding of a dwarf, ethically, I can't pay a large purchase price for one. I would be willing to pay a reasonable adoption fee.

Please contact me or pass along my information if you know of a special little horse in need of a great home with a special purpose!

I am located in Virginia but willing to drive up to 3 hours for the right horse.