The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Driving (http://www.horseforum.com/driving/)
-   -   Harnessing up-------------BITS (http://www.horseforum.com/driving/harnessing-up-bits-141626/)

Taffy Clayton 10-26-2012 01:21 AM

Harnessing up-------------BITS

4 Attachment(s)
I am not a bit expert by any means far from it. I try and learn every chance I get. Whenever there is a lecture on bits I try to attend. When I went to the ADS meeting in WI this year I attended the lecture on bits, and what the lecturer said in concise language was, try a lot of different bits and use what works best.

Here are a few of mine I have used. I will start with my newest bit.
The most expensive bit I have ever bought.
Hand made in America, and so beautifly crafted and beautiful I want Pilgrim to go around with his mouth open so everyone can see my new bit. Just Joking....partly.

It is a mullen mouth, 45 degree, swivel cheek, short shanked Liverpool.

This mullen mouth is special because it does not start rising immediately from the shank. Instead it goes in about 2/3 inch on each side then starts the mullen part of the mouth piece. In other words it goes though the horse’s teeth then starts to rise over the tongue. The other plus is it does not go straight up instead it rises at a 45 degree angle, making it less tongue pressure when contact is on the bit. It also has flat curb chain attachments, kind of a pain untill you get used to the trick to hookup the curb but once you get it it is good.

Isn't it beautiful??

SorrelHorse 10-26-2012 01:43 AM

Oh yes it's very pretty.

That's how I feel about my bit collection...At the barn, I am so guilty of leaving my show bag open like LOOK AT ALL THE PRETTY SHINY BITS I HAVE~ :lol:

Taffy Clayton 10-26-2012 01:50 AM

4 Attachment(s)
There are a few different placements of the reins on my new bit as well as several driving bits.

Of course they go in order of most mild to more severe rein attachments.