The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Miniature Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/miniature-horses/)
-   -   About to get my first mini! (http://www.horseforum.com/miniature-horses/about-get-my-first-mini-141866/)

Beautyfoal 10-28-2012 08:29 PM

About to get my first mini!

Please note that I'm a complete horse newbie!

Hi! I'm 21 years old, I live in Florida, come January I'll be enrolling into my first year of college to get my AA in Veterinary Sciences and I'm going to be adopting my first horse. =)

My best friend has been into horses her whole life and she re-introduced me earlier this year and I've been in love ever since. She's been a great trainer and an ever better friend, teaching me everything I need to know day by day. I have class A grooming skills and we're moving on to ground work once we get the mini's.

With a farm hand job, I should be able to afford him and afford gas to and from the barn + school (come January). So I want to save my money, at least 2 month's worth before I purchase him.

I make $20/day x 3 days. Making it 480$ for the 2 months. I know, not a lot. But it'll eventually get better as I slowly save my money through college and have reliable transportation during the week, and (hopefully) a part time job. I'll be putting away 60$ a month into a savings account for horse needs and Vet visits.

I spoke with a friend of mine who said I can pasture board my mini at her place for 75$ a month, which includes grain. The owner said that the colt that I want, BeautyFoal (hence the name!) was around $100-200?

I'll be talking to him seriously about it come Tuesday. I already purchased a halter and a lead rope and my best friend gave me some hand-me-down starter grooming stuff: hoof pick, stiff brush, comb. It's not much, but it's better than nothing.